In conceivable reaction to Trump, EU parliament calls to end visa-free travel for US citizens

The European Union parliament as of Thursday calls to mandate U.S. citizens traveling/visiting European nations to obtain visas because the U.S. excludes five EU countries from its no-visa policy and the travel-ban enforced on travelers from seven Muslim countries - an executive order by the U.S. President, Donald Trump.

The five European countries excluded from the United States of America's no-visa policy are Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland and Romania while U.S. citizens can travel to all EU countries without visa.

It's believed the Commission is approaching suspending visa waiver for Americans with caution as it may negatively affect tourism, trade, and the European economy.

The European home-affairs commissioner, Dimitris Avramopoulos, traveled to Washington DC last month to talk about the issue. 
He wrote:
“As you know, our approach brought results with Canada. We will continue our engagement with the United States on this matter as well our broader cooperation on migration and security.”
Canada has decided to lift all remaining visa requirements for EU citizens by the end of the year.

No comments:

Post a Comment