2016 NFL Wild Card And Divisional Playoff Schedule.

The NFL’s playoff picture is finally in focus. The 2015 regular season is in the books after Sunday’s play, and with it, the march toward who will be crowned champion in Super Bowl 50 can begin in earnest.
Tonight, Commissioner Roger Goodell announced the schedule of sites, dates and times for the National Football League Wild Card Playoffs on January 9-10 and Divisional Playoffs on January 16-17.

Some interesting tidbits regarding the games on Sunday, and the playoffs…
  • The Seahawks at Vikings will be first playoff game played outdoors in Minneapolis since 1976. 
  • According to the NFL,  four teams that missed the postseason in 2014 – Kansas City (11-5), Minnesota (10-5), Houston (9-7) and Washington (9-7) – advanced to the 2015 playoffs. Since the 12-team playoff format was adopted in 1990, at least four teams have qualified for the playoffs in every season that were not in the postseason the year before.
  • According to the NFL, Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson threw three touchdowns and no interceptions in the Seahawks’ win at Arizona. Wilson has 24 touchdown passes and one interception in his past seven games and is the only player in NFL history to pass for at least 24 touchdowns and have one or zero interceptions in a seven-game span within a season.
  • According to the NFL, Carolina quarterback Cam Newton finished the season with 35 passing touchdowns and 10 rushing touchdowns and is the only player in NFL history with at least 30 passing touchdowns and 10 rushing touchdowns in a single season.

No comments:

Post a Comment